Local Lobby Laws

Several cities in Texas have own lobby laws — Houston, San Antonio, Dallas, Lubbock, Corpus Christi, El Paso, Galveston and Austin. Note also that vendors now have multiple reporting requirements with local jurisdictions as a result of their contracts.

Three Texas counties have lobby laws: Dallas and Harris, which are voluntary registrations, and El Paso, which was granted statutory authority to adopt an ethics ordinance. (Local Government Code Chapter 161)